who is running against dan patrick in 2022

But the Brownsville Democrat was there to speak in glowing terms about the man standing next to him at the podium Tuesday night Republican Lt. Gov. Get the latest politics news from North Texas and beyond. As of the end of September, Paschal had about $15,500 on hand; Hulsey had $48,300. After the Senate approved the bill last week, Collier denounced it as a "significant, unnecessary attack on the right to vote of every Texan.". The winner will run against incumbent Lt. Gov. Unfortunately for them, I'm an accountant. All rights reserved. He has also called reducing property taxes his No. Dan Patrick, who released a statement months ago announcing his intention to seek re-election in 2022 stating he would crush his opponents, has now drawn up challengers that would like to see him try, I am running for re-election in 2022. Patrick has repeatedly said that he will run for a third term next year - and that it would be his last term as lieutenant governor if he wins. Whitley said he wont be running for re-election in 2022. Collier & Whitley are two-of-a-kind, tax hiking, big spenders. Collier is launching an exploratory committee to challenge Patrick again next year, though he said it is more of a "confirmatory" committee and that he is "intent on doing this. Scandal-scarred Attorney General Ken Paxton could be the most enticing target for Democrats. In the 2022 midterm elections, the top race on ballots in Texas will be for governor. Patrick has a handful of lesser known primary opponents but is widely expected to win the GOP nomination for the position. Patrick was first elected in . Collier, a Houston-area accountant, said he plans to pitch himself much like he did in 2018, playing the mild-mannered policy wonk to Patrick's conservative firebrand. If Collier makes his campaign official as expected, it would give Democrats an early and serious contender as they look to build their 2022 statewide ticket. The newly configured